Introducing Lucy Snyder, the author of THE COLD BLACKNESS BETWEEN

I was an avid reader long before I was a writer, and my love of reading partly came from growing up in a house full of books. But more important, I learned to love stories because my parents read to me at bedtime when I was too young to read on my own.

And some of my favorite bedtime stories were fairy tales. I adored stories by the Brothers Grimm and Charles Perrault. I didn’t much care for most of Hans Christian Andersen, because more often than not his tales gave me nightmares (I know this is deeply ironic, considering the dark streak that runs through my own fiction. What can I say? I still get nightmares, and the darn things have plots!)

When I was a few years older and reading on my own, I became fascinated with myths and legends. When my parents bought copies of Edith Hamilton’s Mythology and Katherine Briggs’ An Encyclopedia of Fairies, I nearly wore the covers off the books. So many fascinating tales of gods and monsters, fairies and giants — I was hooked for life.

I still have that copy of Katherine Briggs’ encyclopedia, and I keep it and my other mythology books near my writing desk. Should I ever find myself stuck for an idea, I know I’ll find something in their pages to spark my imagination.

Most of my fiction has been informed by my early days hearing and reading fairy tales. My story in Once Upon A Curse is entitled “The Cold Blackness Between”. It’s about modern-day witches and necromancers. But within it, you can find echoes of tales such as “Briar Rose”, “Bluebeard”, and the German legend of Faust.

**********************************

Lucy Snyder is the Bram Stoker Award Winner and an internationally published author of fantasy and horror. Her story THE COLD BLACKNESS BETWEEN will appear in ONCE UPON A CURSE anthology, upcoming on December 21.

Enter our ongoing raffle by clicking on the link below to win a pre-publication copy of the anthology, or order one in Dragonwell Publishing bookstore for early holiday delivery.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a comment

Filed under New Releases, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

